UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2022

Opportunity Detail

  • Language Requirement Not required
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Number of Opportunity: 6
  • Eligible Region/Countries
    Open for all
  • Opportunity ID 1582

Opportunity Description

The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) International Literacy Prizes 2022 are now accepting applications. All literacy learning champions are encouraged to apply and nominate entities to be ready to engage and nominate their favorite candidates worldwide. As in previous years, UNESCO will recognize 6 individuals or organizations for outstanding projects that promote literacy learning, with this year’s edition focusing on the theme ‘Transforming literacy learning spaces.’ The theme’s goal is to present the various existing learning spaces (work, school, family, learning centers) and highlight the relationships and multiple interconnections.

Organized by: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Application Deadline: June 6, 2022
Nomination Deadline: June 20, 2022

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have recognized excellence and innovation in literacy since 1967. Over 506 projects and programs from all over the world have already been identified and supported for their outstanding work.

Sponsored links


There are currently two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 awards):

Established in 1989 and supported by the Republic of Korea’s government. It prioritizes programs that promote literacy development based on the mother language.

Each UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize winner receives a medal, a diploma, and a monetary award of US$20,000.

  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards):

Established in 2005 and supported by the People’s Republic of China’s government. This award recognizes programs that promote literacy, including functional literacy, by leveraging technological environments to assist adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.

Each UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy winner receives a medal, a diploma, and US$30,000.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations, and individuals who contribute to promoting and advancing literacy learning through projects and programs.
  • All applications should be sent to the nominating entities, the National Commission for UNESCO in the program’s country, or a non-governmental organization (NGO) in an official partnership with UNESCO. They are encouraged to inform UNESCO about the nominated individuals, institutions, and organizations.

How to apply for UNESCO International Literacy Prizes?

Qualified applicants need to fill out the online application form appropriately by clicking on the “Apply Now” button below.

Apply Now

Selection Criteria

  • Activities relevant to the announced themes;
  • Relevance to the societal and individuals needs;
  • The teaching and learning quality;
  • The activities impact;
  • Innovative approaches;
  • Sustainability of the project or program;

For more/detailed information about International Literacy Prizes, you can visit UNESCO’s website.

You may also these opportunities:

Sponsored links