UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

Opportunity Detail

  • Language Requirement Not required
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Level Nondegree
  • Eligible Region/Countries
    Open for all
  • Medium of Instruction EnglishFrench
  • Opportunity ID 22214
  • Funding Type Fully Funded

Opportunity Description

The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2022 accepts nominations. UNESCO invites governments of Member States to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize, in consultation with their National Commissions and international and regional professional non-governmental organizations active in the fields of journalism and press freedom. Its goal is to recognize each year a person, organization, or institution that has made a significant contribution to the defense and advancement of press freedom anywhere globally, mainly where there are risks involved. This award is given out annually on World Press Freedom Day (May 3).

Organizer: United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
Funded by: Guillermo Cano Isaza Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland), the Namibia Media Trust (Namibia), and Democracy & Media Foundation Stichting Democratie & Media (The Netherlands)
Nomination Deadline: February 15, 2022

UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize:

The UNESCO Executive Board established this prize in 1997 in memory of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the line of profession.

Sponsored links
  • A global event commemorates the award, and the winner receives a cash prize of US$ 25,000.
Eligibility Criteria:
  • Individuals, institutions, other entities, and non-governmental organizations may be awarded prizes.
  • Candidates must have contributed significantly to press freedom anywhere globally, representing all forms of media, including digital media.
How to nominate for UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize?

Nominations should be submitted by Nomination Form, either in English or in French, and mailing it or emailing it to the addresses below:

Nominate Form

Submission Email: [email protected]g , [email protected]

Mail Address:

Communication and Information Sector
Freedom of Expression and Safety of Journalists Section
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris

For more information, visit the official announcement by UNESCO

You may also like these opportunities:
Sponsored links