TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award 2024 for Female Scientists

Award/Grant The World Academy of Science TWAS posted 3 weeks ago

Opportunity Description

The World Academy of Science/TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharifi 2024 award nominations are now open. This program is available for all TWAS members, including science academics, national research councils, universities, and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.

The Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award is given annually to honor female scientists from countries that are not very advanced in science and technology. This award gives them $4,000 in cash, thanks to Professor Al-Kharafi. The award’s focus changes each year, and in 2024, it will be for achievements in Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, or Engineering Sciences.

Therefore, if you are a scientist and fulfill the requirements, do not miss the opportunity to apply. Also, please note that self-nomination is not accepted for this award.

Sponsored links

Important Details

Nomination Deadline: 10 May 2024

Organized by: World Academy of Science (TWAS)

Sponsored links

Target Group: Female scientists from less advanced countries in science and technology

Scientific Field: Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics or Engineering Sciences

Eligible Countries: Countries listed here, including Afghanistan

Benefits and Prize

The award winner will have the chance to receive an amount of USD 4,000.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees should meet the following criteria:

  • Nominations are open for the 2024 Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, or Engineering Sciences award.
  • Nominees must be female scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (ST-lagging) countries, residing and working there for at least two years before nomination.
  • Early submissions are encouraged.
  • Pay attention to maximum character limits before compiling nominations.

ST Lagging Countries

The following is the list of eligible countries that lack Science and Technology:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Angola
  3. Bangladesh
  4. Benin
  5. Bhutan
  6. Bolivia
  7. Burkina Faso
  8. Burundi
  9. Cambodia
  10. Cameroon
  11. Central African Rep.
  12. Chad
  13. Comoros
  14. Congo
  15. Côte d’Ivoire
  16. Dem. Rep. Congo
  17. Djibouti
  1. El Salvador
  2. Eritrea
  3. Eswatini, Kingdom of
  4. Ethiopia
  5. Equatorial Guinea
  6. Gambia
  7. Ghana
  8. Guatemala
  9. Guinea
  10. Guinea-Bissau
  11. Haiti
  12. Honduras
  13. Kenya
  14. Kiribati
  15. Lao People’s Dem. Rep.
  16. Lesotho
  17. Liberia
  1. Madagascar
  2. Malawi
  3. Mali
  4. Mauritania
  5. Mongolia
  6. Mozambique
  7. Myanmar
  8. Nepal
  9. Nicaragua
  10. Niger
  11. Palestine, State of
  12. Paraguay
  13. Rwanda
  14. Sao Tome and Principe
  15. Senegal
  16. Sierra Leone
  1. Solomon Islands
  2. Somalia
  3. South Sudan
  4. Sri Lanka
  5. Sudan
  6. Syrian Arab Republic
  7. Tajikistan
  8. Tanzania
  9. Timor-Leste
  10. Togo
  11. Tuvalu
  12. Uganda
  13. Vanuatu
  14. Yemen
  15. Zambia
  16. Zimbabwe

Required Information/Material for Nomination

Complete nominations must include the following:

    • Nominator contact details.
    • Nominee contact details (self-nominations and jury member nominations not accepted).
    • Authorization from the nominee for personal data processing.
    • Suggested citation (15-20 words).
    • Supporting statement on the nominee’s contribution to Agricultural Sciences or Biology.
    • Account of the nominee’s time spent abroad in the past two years.
    • PhD information.
    • Membership in academies and societies.
    • Awards and honors received.
    • List of 10 most significant publications.
    • Nominee’s brief CV and complete list of publications (to be uploaded separately).
    • Nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and associated number of citations.

How do you nominate a scientist?

  • Nominate a female scientist online before the closing date, taking the points mentioned above into consideration.
  • If you nominate a person for the first time, start the process by clicking on the “New Nomination” button.
  • If you want to resume working on a saved nomination, click the “Resume” button.
  • Early nominations must be considered; therefore, do not wait until the final minutes.


New Nomination


Resume Saved Nomination


For more detailed information, you can visit the official website here. If you have any questions related to the nomination, contact the following email: [email protected] 



Check More Opportunities:

The Alpine Fellowship Theatre Prize 2024 (£3,000 cash grant)

MediBang ART Street Regular Illustration Contest 2024 (50,000 JPY Prize)

UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award 2024 ($100,000 Prize)

Victor Cohn Prize for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting 2024

iF Social Impact Prize 2024 (100,000 Euros)

Sponsored links

Related Opportunities