Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2023 (€10,000)

Opportunity Detail

  • Language Requirement Not required
  • Gender MaleFemale
  • Level Non-Degree /Short program
  • Number of Opportunity: 3
  • Eligible Region/Countries
    Countries in the list
  • Medium of Instruction EnglishGermanFrenchSpanish
  • Opportunity ID 28262
  • Funding Type Partially Funded

Opportunity Description

The European Commission now accepts applications for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2023 from journalists worldwide. The #NataliPrize honors the journalists’ efforts whose stories shed light on the pressing global challenges. Journalists reporting on inequality, sustainable development, environment, poverty eradication, biodiversity, climate action, jobs and employment, digital, education and skills development, migration, healthcare, human rights, peace, and democracy are eligible to apply online.

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, celebrating its 31st anniversary this year, is back to support international partnerships and inspire the new generation of journalists. Submitted reports can be in any language but should have a translation in one of the competition languages: English, French, German, Spanish, or Portuguese.

  • Organized by:European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Partnerships (DG INTPA)
    Application Deadline: 28 April 2023
  • Prize Award Ceremony Location: Brussels
  • Eligible Countries:Countries listed here

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Categories

Applicants can apply for any of the prize categories:

Sponsored links
  • Grand Prize: Reporting from a media outlet based in one of the European Union’s partners countries
  • Europe Prize: Reporting from a European Union-based news organization
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: It is open to journalists under 30 whose work has been published by a media outlet based in the European Union or one of its partner countries.

Prize Amount

Winners will receive the prize amount as follows:

  • Each category’s winner will receive €10,000.
  • A work experience opportunity with a media partner will be available to the Best Emerging Journalist category winners.

Eligibility Criteria for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize

Applicants should meet the following requirements:

Format: Applicants can submit their entries in written, audio-visual, and multimedia formats such as photo-reportages, interactive articles with charts, and infographics.

Publication Period: Candidates must have published or broadcast their entries between 10 March 2022 and 9 March 2023. All entries should be freely accessible via an online link.

Language Requirements: Submissions can be in all languages but with a translation in one of these languages: English, French, German, Spanish, or Portuguese if they are not the original languages of the reporting.

Length: Text entries should be 2,300 words, and video and audio entries can be 30 minutes long.

Geographic eligibility: The location of the media outlet’s office must be in an eligible country. Please find the complete list of eligible countries here.

Author(s): Reports can have one or several authors. The participants should be authors and copyright holders of the submission of the moral rights of their work.

How to Apply for Lorenzo Natali Media Prize?

Eligible individuals can apply through the online application form and submit the link to their published report.


Apply Now



For more information on the Prize, please visit the official website of the European Commission or the Prize Rules and Regulations with details.

Also, Check These Opportunities:

UNESCO Prize for Women’s and Girls Education

Bayer Foundation fellowship for Masters, Ph.D. and Medical Students (Up to €10,000)

NBCDI Public Voices Fellowship on racial Justice in Early Childhood